VBT_TourBanner_TheAlistairStoneChronices

The Alastair Stone Chronicles series
by R. L. King

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

DBookCover_Bk1_AlastairStoneChroniclesr. Alastair Stone, Occult Studies professor, powerful mage, and snarky British expat now based in Palo Alto, California, does his best to keep his academic and social lives separate from his increasingly frequent brushes with various malevolent forces from the supernatural side of the street. A little horror, a little humor, but mostly straight-up urban fantasy.
Stone and a Hard Place
==============
Dr. Alastair Stone, Occult Studies professor and powerful mage, has his hands full trying to keep the two sides of his life separate as he trains a new apprentice, deals with a malevolent entity trapped in the basement of a wealthy old woman’s massive home, and battles dark mages intent on enslaving it for their own ends.

Debut novel of the Alastair Stone Chronicles.

The Forgotten
=========
Dr. Alastair Stone is back, this time teaming up with Jason Thayer, a young man hunting for his missing sister. Embroiled in a web of odd homeless people, a growing conspiracy, and deadly danger, they soon realize that even if they find Jason’s sister, they might not be able to help her.

What do you do when you discover an extradimensional plot that threatens the safety of the entire world, but you can’t tell anyone about it because literally anyone on Earth could be part of it?

Book Two of the Alastair Stone Chronicles.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Excerpt

                                                             THE FORGOTTEN
BookCover_Bk2_AlastairStoneChroniclesJason let out a loud sigh, his natural tendency to want to move nearly overwhelming now. “How do we know if it doesn’t work? Do we have to stand in here forever?”

Stone was about to answer when he stiffened, startled. “It’s back,” he said, pointing at the mirror.

Jason spun around. Sure enough, the reddish figure had reappeared behind them in the mirror, looking as angry as ever. It said something to Stone in its bones-and-parchment voice, punctuated by many growls and other sounds of displeasure. The mage nodded. “She’s there now, then?” he asked.

The figure snarled and glared at Stone. It appeared to be contemplating another lunge out into the real world, but eyed the mage warily and decided against it. Instead, it spat at him. The spittle flew out, contacted its own side of the mirror, and ran down toward the table with a sizzle. Then it reached out with a ropy, muscular arm and attempted to sweep all the objects off the table on its side of the mirror. The candles, knife, and chalice went, careening silently over the edge and out of sight. The book remained, and the creature screamed in agony as its arm contacted it.

“It’s fighting me—” Stone said under his breath. “I’m going to release it now.” He reached up with both hands and put them on the mirror again. Loudly and clearly, he uttered a long sentence in the strange Latin-like language, then pulled his hands back abruptly and clapped them together in a sudden, sharp sound that made Jason jump. He stumbled, reeling back, realizing with horror even as he did so that he had no way of stopping himself. He was going to fall over backwards, taking out a good chunk of the circle when he landed.

As he went over, he got a last look at the creature’s face. Instead of looking angry, it looked suddenly surprised and triumphant. That lasted about two seconds. It flung itself forward again, clawed hands eagerly reaching in front of it, reaching for Stone, for Jason—

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Interview with the Author:

1. How long have you been writing?
I’ve been writing for as long as I can remember. I used to write stories as a young kid, including several Star Trek fan fiction stories as a teenager about which the less said, the better.  I finished my first full-length novel (which will never see the light of day) in my early twenties, and then wrote five fan fiction novels in the universe of the roleplaying game Shadowrun, which I posted online. People liked them, and those were what began to give me the idea that maybe I was decent enough at this writing thing that people would want to read my stuff.

2. How long have you been a published author?
My first professionally published work was some game-related fiction for the RPG Shadowrun (the same one I wrote the fan stories for—those were instrumental in getting me the freelance work) in 2001. Since then, I’ve written numerous bits of fiction and game material, including a full-length adventure, for the game, and they published my first game-universe novel in April of this year. I published my first indie books in 2011 and 2012, then took them down and reworked them as part of my Stone Chronicles series.

3. What titles do you have available?
Currently, the first two books in my Stone Chronicles series, Stone and a Hard Place and The Forgotten, are available. My Shadowrun novel, Borrowed Time, is published by Catalyst Game Labs and also available through all the regular channels.

4. What made you choose the subject of this book?
I’ve loved dark fantasy and horror since I was a kid, and urban fantasy since I discovered Shadowrun back in the Eighties, so it was natural when it came time for me to write something original, it would straddle those genres. My main character, Dr. Alastair Stone, has been knocking around my head in various forms for many years, and I’m happy that he’s finally found a home in the series.

5. Do you have any new titles coming soon?
The third book in the Stone Chronicles series, The Threshold, will be out in the September-October timeframe. I have two more finished and in the pipeline after that, and several more are in various stages of production (from ideas to notes to one that’s nearly finished in first draft). I expect that if things go according to plan, there will be quite a number of new books in the series coming.

6. What is your favourite genre and why?
My favorite genre is urban fantasy—specifically the end of it that is more thriller- and horror-based than romance-based. I like it because I love magic but I’m not a big fan of traditional medieval fantasy, so being able to read and write about modern-day people and situations with magic involved is the best for me. I love the Dresden Files series (which I had not read when I started my series—friends insisted that I do so, and I’m glad they did!) and I’ve got a few more writers on my list to read when I get time. I’m also a big fan of the Harry Potter series.

7. What, to you, is the most exciting part of the writing process?
What I call “epiphanies”—when I’m stuck on a particular part of a book, it’s just not working and I can’t figure out why…and suddenly, out of the blue, the solution will hit me. Maybe I need to add in a new plot point, change a scene, tweak the characters in a section, but whatever it is, I instantly know it’s going to fix the problem and make the book work. Those are wonderful, and I just have to trust myself that they’ll happen if I don’t try to force them. Also, I love it when fans connect with me and tell me they enjoyed my books and my characters.

8. If you could co-author a book with anyone, who would you choose and why?
I think I’d choose Jim Butcher. I’ve met him a couple of times, briefly, and he seems like a smart, easygoing, and very nice guy. He’s also a gamer and he has tons of incredible ideas. I would love to see what happened if Alastair Stone met Harry Dresden.

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

R. L. King is an award-winning author and game freelancer for Catalyst Game Labs, publisher of the popular roleplaying game Shadowrun. She has contributed fiction and game material to numerous sourcebooks, as well as one full-length adventure, “On the Run,” included as part of the 2012 Origins-Award-winning “Runners’ Toolkit.”

Her first novel in the Shadowrun universe, Borrowed Time, was published in May 2015.

When not doing her best to make life difficult for her characters, King is a software technical writer for a large Silicon Valley database company. In her spare time (hah!) she enjoys hanging out with her very understanding spouse and her small herd of cats, watching way too much Doctor Who, and attending conventions when she can. She is an Active member of the Horror Writers’ Association and the Science Fiction and Fantasy Writers of America, and a member of the International Association of Media Tie-in Writers.

Links:
Writer Website: http://www.rlkingwriting.com
Publisher Website: http://www.magespacepress.com
Facebook: http://www.facebook.com/AlastairStoneChronicles
Twitter: @Dragonwriter11
Amazon Author Page: http://www.amazon.com/R.-L.-King/e/B0084QBKYC/

Buy link for Stone and a Hard Place (Book 1): amzn.to/1CFdTDi
Buy link for The Forgotten (Book 2): http://www.amazon.com/Forgotten-Alastair-Stone-Chronicles-Book-ebook/dp/B0084O96RW/

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The author will be awarding a $40 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates can be found here: 

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2015/07/vbt-series-alastair-stone-chronicles-by.html

14 thoughts on “The Alastair Stone Chronicles Series by R.L. King

  1. Characters often find themselves in situations they aren’t sure they can get themselves out of. When was the last time you found yourself in a situation that was hard to get out of and what did you do?

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Mai Tran:
      Great question! I have kind of a silly answer, because I can’t think of anything too big or scary off the top of my head: just the other day we were getting ready to ship something to the convention we’re going to, but we neglected to check the shipping rates, so we found out it was going to cost a fortune to ship it! Since we’d waited so long we only had a couple of days and we didn’t have many options–we needed the item to be there. So we spent half of Saturday scrambling around looking for another way to get it there. Fortunately, we managed it–but we’ll be smarter next time!
      R. L. King

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Enjoyed…thanks for sharing. The gaming background is interesting. My eldest son has worked for gaming companies since he graduated…works in England now.

    Like

Leave a Reply

