VBT_TourBanner_TheDevilsHook

The Devil’s Hook

by Pearl R. Meaker

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE: Cozy Mystery

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Interview with the Author:

  1. How long have you been writing?

I wrote my first stories, three fanfiction stories – two based on Dr. Who and one off of Zorro – in 1990 or 1991, so that makes it twenty-five or so years. I didn’t write until we had our first computer where it’s so much easier to make changes and adjustments than with either a handwritten or typed documents.

There was a gap of twelve years before I started writing fanfiction based on “The Lord of the Rings” and posting it online. I have been writing original stories for about seven years. I had two short stories published before The Devil’s Music was published, and now The Devil’s Hook is out.

  1. How long have you been a published author?

It’s been about five years if you count it from the two short stories I wrote that were published by a magazine (now out of business).  For my novels, if you go by release dates, four months.

  1. What titles do you have available?

The Devil’s Music, in which folk and bluegrass music, herb lore and superstitions are a part of the story, is my first book and the first in the Emory Crawford Mysteries Series. It has been out since May 1, 2015

The Devil’s Hook, which has a bit of a focus on crochet, art and people’s pasts, is my second book in the series and it released September 15, 2015.

There are samples of each book on my website: pearlrmeaker.com if readers want to test the waters before jumping in.

Speaking of waters – well, you’ll see in my answer to question #5.

  1. What made you choose the subject of this book?

I got the very basic idea from a line in a song. “She’s long gone with her red shoes on.” I used crocheting because Emory and I both like doing crafts and I thought I’d do something with crocheting. Then, I couldn’t think of any murder mysteries I’d ever heard of that had a crochet hook for the weapon, it’s usually knitting needles because they are more pointed, so I thought would be interesting to do. Everything else grew from there.

  1. Do you have any new titles coming soon

Yes, I do. My third book, The Devil’s Flood, will be out in the fall of 2016. Events in Golden County’s past and present come together, murders with a touch of modern-day moonshining, during a flood year in Central Illinois. Will Emory Crawford figure out the connections to murders more than a century apart? Will Madison Twombly bring the moonshiner into the light of day?

  1. What is your favourite genre and why?

Mystery is my favorite genre. It has been for as long as I can remember. I like plot emphasis more than character emphasis in stories I read. I read for the story. Agatha Christie was on of my first favorite authors and her books focus more on the mystery – on the who-done-it – than on the deep introspection of Hercule Poirot or Miss Marple.

I don’t do well with books that set the story aside to focus on the characters thoughts and feelings before going back into the plot. Romance books are like that and I have trouble reading them, but because chick flicks tend to focus more on the action/plot, I enjoy them. I don’t like literary genre either for the same reason. I always find my mind wandering and wondering when we’re going to get back to the story.

  1. What, to you, is the most exciting part of the writing process?

Watching my characters do what they do to make the story happen. They often surprise me with things they say or do, with how they react.

That probably sounds strange after how I answered the last question but, yeah, it’s writing and learning about my characters.

It’s the same thing with the story or plot. It will often go in directions I hadn’t foreseen. Take a turn here, a twist there and it’s fun to see it develop.

  1. If you could co-author a book wiIth anyone, who would you choose and why?

That’s a tricky question. I did co-author once and it was difficult. Not horrible or anything, but difficult.

I guess I’d say Agatha Christie as the basic feel and approach we take to our story telling seems similar.

  1. Where can readers find you on the web? 

The Devil’s Hook awesome book trailer is HERE

My website is pearlrmeaker.com

I’m also on Facebook as Pearl R. Meaker

Pinterest as Pearl R. Meaker

Twitter as PearlRMeaker

Goodreads as Pearl R Meaker

BLURB:

Jairus Twombly’s familial intuition is faltering and his new personal assistant seems to be trying to replace his wife, Amy.

On the Twombly College campus, someone is breaking into the dorm rooms of female students leaving things instead of taking things: red colored objects including a red golf ball, a red ribbon and a tiny red stuffed dog.

When a recipient of some of the red objects goes missing and is returned after being told, “You’re not her”, and the personal assistant turns up dead with Amy Twombly’s elegant Bloodwood crochet hook in her eye, things heat up for Emory Crawford and her chemist and forensic scientist husband, Dr. Jebbin Crawford.

Emory, along with the Twombly’s Nancy Drew-like daughter, Madison, once more turns to her amateur detective skills and intuition to solve the mysteries.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BookCover_TheDevilsHook

Excerpt:

“Get it out! Get it out! Get it out!”

Amy was screaming the words over and over, hands held to either side of her face like Edvard Munch’s painting “The Scream.”

There was a body on the floor at the far end of the table on my side. I heard doors sliding. I swung my head to look at the doors into the main hall.

“What on earth is . . .”

“Iga,” I yelled to be heard above Amy’s hysterics. “Get Amy and Madison out of here, now!”

I heard her rounding up the two Twomblys and taking them somewhere else. My attention was on the body on the floor.

A couple of steps closer and I could see what Amy was screaming about. There lay the display pedestal surrounded by mangled flowers and a porcelain vase in shards, some of which were resting in the blood on the floor as it bled into the water the flowers had been in. Despite knowing there had been an argument in here a short while before, despite the overturned furniture and broken vase that could have been knocked over for a very different reason than the one Amy gave us, even though Amy’s bloodwood crochet hook was protruding from Resie’s left eye, I knew with every shiver running through my soul that Amy hadn’t done this. And, since Resie wasn’t writhing in agony, I also knew she was dead.

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

AuthorPhoto_TheDevilsHook

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Pearl R. Meaker is an upper-middle-aged, short, pudgy homemaker, mother, and grandmother who in 2002 became a writer. Initially writing fanfiction she soon tried original fiction at the encouragement of her regular readers. She has been a life-long lover of mystery stories and automatically went to that genre for her first book, The Devil’s Music. She and her husband of nearly 40 years live in central Illinois. They both love bluegrass music, playing fiddle and banjo and singing. Pearl also does many crafts –  when she’s not reading or writing – knitting, crochet, origami, needlepoint, and cross-stitch among them. She also enjoys birding and photography and is a former fencer.

Visit Pearl here:

pearlrmeaker.com

https://www.facebook.com/PearlRMeaker

https://twitter.com/PearlRMeaker

https://www.pinterest.com/PearlRMeaker/

Buy The Devil’s Hook here:

 Buy The Devil’s Music:

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/1927559642

Barnes & Noble: http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/the-devils-music-pearl-r-meaker/1121268521?ean=9781927559642

Chapters/Indigo: https://www.chapters.indigo.ca/en-ca/books/the-devils-music/9781927559642-item.html?ikwid=Pearl+R.+Meaker&ikwsec=Books&ikwidx=0

Books-a-Million: http://www.booksamillion.com/p/Devils-Music/Pearl-R-Meaker/9781927559642?id=6265350871154

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Pearl R. Meaker will be awarding a $25 Amazon/BN GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

Enter to win a $25 Amazon/BN GC – a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates can be found here:

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2015/08/vbt-devils-hook-by-pearl-r-meaker.html   

15 thoughts on “The Devil’s Hook by Pearl R. Meaker

    1. Hi Mai!

      You’re asking tough questions this tour. 😀 I guess I’d say Prof. Sybil Trelawney. I’m not quite as spacey, nor so optically impaired, but I am given to pessimism (“Who did she say is going to die this semester?”). I’m told that I’m kind and caring which Prof. Trelawney is, but also like her I’m often over emotional and anxious. I’ve always wanted to be mystical and magical.

      Thank you for the great questions, Mai. They make the tour so much fun. 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

