Blind Chess by Cristelle Comby

VBT_BlindChess_Banner copy

Blind Chess

by Cristelle Comby

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE: Mystery & Detectives

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

It is supposed to be Neve and Egan. Two partners, a team. What happens when a member of this team of Private Investigators is shot, prognosis unknown?

As Alexandra Neve lays comatose and defenceless, Ashford Egan must take on their enemy alone, and find the cagiest criminal Scotland Yard has seen in decades. Determined to succeed, Egan will stop at nothing. He’ll hit on married women, plant bugs, hire hitmen. And he’ll do it all blind, which makes things ten times as difficult.

Double-crossed by friends, convinced there is corruption in those sworn to uphold the law, Egan is forced to form unlikely alliances as he moves forward in a game that requires skills, nerves of steel, and a willingness to play against all odds.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MediaKit_BookCover_BlindChess

Excerpt:

There is something Dimitri isn’t telling me. It is there in his voice. Hidden behind the words, behind the constructs he is trying to project. He isn’t being honest, I am convinced of it. He has the means to get in touch with The Sorter, if he so wants, but that service won’t come for free.

‘You’re a merchant,’ I say.

‘Da,’ he replies. ‘I am.’

‘And you accept all kinds of currencies?’

‘Da.’

‘Well,’ I sigh, ‘what will it cost me?’

Dimitri chuckles again. There is a dark sincerity to the sound. ‘I like you, Ashford,’ he says. ‘I have always liked you. You’re blind, but you see more than most. You understand how life works and you accept it. You’re not of my world, but you fit right in.’

I grit my teeth in reply, waiting for the penny to drop.

I hear Dimitri snap his fingers and then footsteps coming closer—a man, judging by the sounds, tall and a little on the heavy side, according to his stride and the echo his boots make on the tiled floor.

‘Sir?’ the newcomer says. He sounds younger than Dimitri, closer to Lexa’s age, I would guess, and eager to please.

Dimitri addresses him in his mother tongue.

‘Yes, sir,’ the newcomer replies before turning on his heel and walking away at a brisk pace.

‘There is a certain something you could help me with,’ Dimitri tells me.

‘Anything,’ I say.

‘A man I have been doing business with has… how would you say… played me.’ He spits the words out as if they are distasteful. ‘He’s been missing since Monday.’

‘What did he do?’ I ask.

‘He ran away with my money.’

‘And?’

‘And I can’t find him. He’s hiding, but his wife is still in town.’

‘And you think she knows where to find him?’ I ask, guessing what I am being “hired” for.

‘Maybe, maybe not. Alas, she has connections and I have to be careful.’

‘Connections?’ I ask.

‘Her sister is police.’ Again he says the word as if it leaves a bitter taste in his mouth. ‘My men are keeping an eye on her, making sure the husband doesn’t come for a visit, but that’s all we can do. We can’t be seen. I don’t want the cops to get near me. They are like bloodhounds once they have your scent.’

‘But,’ I say, ‘if someone who isn’t part of your organisation were to do the job and get caught by the dogs… it wouldn’t inconvenience you too much, would it?’

I can hear the smile in Dimitri’s reply. ‘No, it would not.’

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Interview with the Author:

How long have you been writing?
I can’t really remember when I started… I’ve always liked writing. I’ve started doing fanfictions in my teens. Then I worked on one or two manuscripts which are still in my desk drawers and that I might go-over and polish one day. And then finally the first of the Neve & Egan book, back in March 2013.

How long have you been a published author?
Three years now. It’s been a great learning curve, and I made some terrific friends on the way.

What titles do you have available?
There are four books in the Neve & Egan series: Russian Dolls, Ruby Heart, Danse Macabre and Blind Chess. It’s recommended to read them in the right order, but each should be able to stand on its own (except Danse Macabre and Blind Chess which are a bit of a two-parter).

What made you choose the subject of this book?
Blind Chess is the direct continuation of the last book in the Neve & Egan series, Danse Macabre. It picks up where the other left off with Neve in the hospital and Egan on his own. He has to find out who tried to harm his partner and

Do you have any new titles coming soon?
I’m working on a new story. I hope to release it by the end of 2016. It’ll be the first book of a new series.

What is your favourite genre and why?
I love to read Urban Fantasy. It feels like it could really happen. With just a touch of imagination; it could be real.

What, to you, is the most exciting part of the writing process?
Creating the story. Thinking it up, building the universe, adding life to the characters. It’s such a great power to have.

If you could co-author a book with anyone, who would you choose and why?
Anyone who’ll have me, really. I’ve never tried it so I guess that’ll be a fun experience.

Where can readers find you on the web?
There’s my official website: http://www.Cristelle-Comby.com which has a list of all my publications, blog posts, a mailing list and more. I’m also on twitter (@Cristelle) if you just want the quick updates.

~~~~~~~~~~

MediaKit_AuthorPhoto_BlindChess

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Cristelle Comby was born and raised in the French-speaking area of Switzerland, in Greater Geneva, where she still resides.

Thanks to her insatiable thirst for American and British action films and television dramas, her English is fluent.

She attributes to her origins her ever-peaceful nature and her undying love for chocolate. She has a passion for art, which also includes an interest in drawing and acting.

Blind Chess is her fourth new-adult novel in the Neve & Egan series.

Links :

Website: http://cristelle-comby.com

Twitter: http://twitter.com/Cristelle

Amazon: http://www.amazon.com/s/ref=ntt_athr_dp_sr_1?_encoding=UTF8&field-author=Cristelle%20Comby&search-alias=digital-text&sort=relevancerank

Goodreads: http://www.goodreads.com/CristelleComby

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Cristelle Comby will be awarding all four books of the series, signed by the author (International Giveaway) to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates can be found here: http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2015/11/vbt-blind-chess-by-cristelle-comby.html

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Blind Chess by Cristelle Comby

  1. Which is a dead character you’d like to bring back to life?

    Liked by 1 person

  2. alexdisanti says:

    This looks like a good read to me. I am going to check it out!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

