Improving Literacy starts at Home

Important read

lisaorchard

Hello everyone! I hope all is well with you! I’m back today and I’m talking about literacy in the United States. Did you know one in seven adults would find it difficult to read anything more challenging than a picture book? This is scary.

I find this quite alarming. How can these adults teach their children about the joy of reading, if they can’t read themselves? I’m sure you know where I’m going with this. Parents who can’t read are limited to what they can teach their children. In my opinion, reading is one of the most important skills we can pass on to our kids.

Photo credit: State Library of Queensland, Australia via Visual hunt / No known copyright restrictions

What’s going to happen to our country if we raise a generation of illiterate adults? What happens when all they can do is read text messages? The ability to…

View original post 513 more words

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Improving Literacy starts at Home

  1. lisaorchard1 says:

    Thanks Sue for reblogging my post! I appreciate it! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

