Fibers by Jennifer-Crystal Johnson

VBT_Fibers_Banner copy

Fiber

by Jennifer-Crystal Johnson

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE: Science Fiction

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

This book is on sale for just .99 on Amazon. Check it out here:

Amazon Fibers Sale

BLURB:

Anna Reynolds is caught up in the middle of a secret interdimensional government agreement… and she doesn’t even know it.

There’s a medical anomaly loosely dubbed Morgellons disease afflicting a number of people. Symptoms include open sores that produce colorful string-like fibers, fatigue, and nightmarish visions of shadowy figures. No one knows where it came from. No one knows what causes it. There is no cure.

When Anna begins having nightmares and waking hallucinations of the shadow people, her uneasiness about her condition grows. Enlisting the help of her doctor and some friends, Anna is determined to find out what’s really going on and why Morgellons is such a mystery.

With her health declining and doubts about whom she can trust, is Anna doomed to become a slave to her condition? Or will she and her unlikely group of would-be heroes come through, saving her… and, ultimately, the world?

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MediaKit_BookCover_Fibers

 Excerpt:

As Anna walked home through the glistening streets of Deeplake, Washington, she adjusted her scarf and wrapped her coat around herself tightly, her breath fogging up the air in front of her. After a brief glance over her shoulder, she quickened her pace, her bag of groceries teetering in her arms momentarily as she readjusted her grip.

She’d been feeling like someone was watching or following her for weeks. At first she just shrugged it off as her own overactive imagination, but the other day, she could’ve sworn she saw a shadow out of the corner of her eye. When she looked, there was nothing there. That wasn’t the first time she had seen shadows. They were always there, just out of sight, their existence never confirmed by a direct glance. But every time it happened, she got goosebumps and the hair on the back of her neck stood on end like it does when you know someone is watching you.

Her left eye began to feel itchy and grainy as she walked, and she cursed herself for not driving. She blinked several times, but after a few moments her eye felt like it had sand in it again. This was accompanied by an unpleasant tickling sensation, which became annoying very quickly.

Her thoughts wandered as her eye got worse. She felt guilty but justified for not mentioning her problems to Casey, who had more than enough on her plate already. She also didn’t want to come across as crazy; Anna was certain she wasn’t. Some of the recent events in her life were crazy, but she was definitely sane.

Do crazy people think they’re sane?

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MediaKit_AuthorPhoto_Fibers

Interview with the Author:

First, thank you so much for having me! I appreciate you taking the time to ask questions, get to know me a bit, and help me promote my first full-length novel, Fibers =). This is also my first experience with doing a blog tour, and so far so good – it’s a lot of fun!

Thank you if you’re reading this right now, too =). I hope you like the premise of my sci-fi novel, which is the first in a trilogy. I also hope that you’ll pick up a copy from Amazon, but if you’d like to get your hands on a few excerpts first, I invite you to sign up to receive my author newsletter at www.JenniferCrystalJohnson.com. I’ll be emailing everyone on my list a series of 12 excerpts. You’ll have the option of reading it in your email or allowing me to read it to you on video =).

Without further ado, Independent Authors has asked me some wonderful questions, so here are my responses. I hope you enjoy this interview!

 

  1. How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing since I was about eight or nine years old ;). Of course back then it wasn’t anything impressive, but I loved the act of writing, so I kept doing it. It was fun =). Once I had an idea for a story, I would run with it.

People always commented on how talented I was, and that led to my first official freelance writing job for an online community for teens. The online magazine would come out four times a year and I was invited to help moderate the forums and write stories and articles about whatever I wanted to for each issue. It paid $100 per issue, and that doesn’t sound like much, but when you’re 13 and have no bills, it’s easy to save that kind of money =).

 

  1. How long have you been a published author?

I started out submitting to some poetry anthologies as a teen, but my first book – a novella, psychological thriller – was published in 2005, shortly before I turned 21. It was published by a company who claimed to be a traditional publisher, but I later found out they were on the Writer Beware list and started seriously thinking about self-publishing, although I didn’t go on to self-publish a book until about 2010.

 

  1. What titles do you have available?

I just released my first full-length novel ever, and am super excited about it! I’ll list all of my books in backwards chronological order:

 

  • Fibers, book #1 of the Infiltration Trilogy; Broken Publications, March 2016

http://amzn.to/208SXTp

  • Our Capacity for Evil, short horror stories; Broken Publications, February 2015

http://amzn.to/1XhZ2ex

  • Soul Vomit: Domestic Violence Aftermath, anthology; Broken Publications, October 2014

http://amzn.to/1YfAwLh

  • The Ten Pillars of a Happy Relationship; Broken Publications, February 2014

http://amzn.to/1UXozw0

  • Soul Vomit: Beating Domestic Violence, anthology; Broken Publications, December 2012

http://amzn.to/1oDgz4P

  • If You’re Human Don’t Open the Door, short horror stories; Broken Publications, April 2012

http://amzn.to/1Vy7iIc

  • Strangers with Familiar Faces, poetry; Broken Publications, February 2012

http://amzn.to/1Vy7pDT

  • Napkin Poetry, poetry; Broken Publications, July 2010

http://amzn.to/1Xi04am

  • The Outside Girl: Perception is Reality, out of print; PublishAmerica, March 2005

http://amzn.to/1oDh52P

 

  1. What made you choose the subject of this book?

The idea for Fibers came about when I stumbled on information regarding a mysterious disease known as Morgellons on YouTube. I’d been researching cryptozoology, kind of searching for inspiration for a new story, and something came up about Morgellons. Intrigued, I started watching videos with information about this illness and found it so fascinating that I decided I just had to use it in a science fiction novel. Something just clicked when I was researching it… and as the idea developed further, it just kept feeling like this is a book that absolutely needs to be written! So I did. And there will be at least two more in the series =).

 

  1. Do you have any new titles coming soon?

As I was planning my marketing strategy for Fibers over the last several years, I gathered resources, did research, and weighed my options as far as financial investment, time investment, and how far ahead I should plan my novel’s release. I collected all of this research and these resources and put everything into a short eBook that is packed with links, tips, marketing advice, low-budget options (because let’s face it… I’m a single mom of three and broke, lol), and ways to plan your marketing efforts in order to make the most of them. If everything goes as planned, all of my marketing will be documented in the book as well and I’ll finally be able to publish that eBook.

 

The working title is The No Bull Guide to Self-Promotion for Independent Authors, and it’s the first in a series of short, to-the-point educational books about self-publishing that I want to make available alongside free video tutorials and online classes on www.NoBullSelfPublishing.com. Just because we’re indie authors doesn’t mean our published work can’t be good quality, so that’s what this site is all about – that and avoiding scammy vanity presses who take authors for thousands of dollars and don’t deliver the services they promise.

  1. What is your favorite genre and why?

My absolute, absolute favorite genre is sci-fi =). It’s difficult to do sci-fi well, so I really hope that I did the genre justice with my book, but I love imagining the possibilities of the future, space travel, time travel, other dimensions, the spirit world (which really is just another dimension if you think about it), superpowers, strange diseases, cryptozoology and weird creatures…. I guess I’ve just always been attracted to the strange! Lol… I also love it when books, movies, and TV shows make me think. My brain NEVER shuts up, and I really can’t do the mindless stupid-funny genre very much because it makes me feel like I’m getting dumber by the minute, hahaha. I’m just very intrigued by things that are strange but potentially possible, because humanity doesn’t know what it doesn’t know. Back when Star Trek came out, nobody thought that handheld phones or touchscreen tablets would be real. Look at us now; everyone has them ;). The possibilities are just so limitless that it seems magical and realistic at the same time, which is awesome =).

  1. What, to you, is the most exciting part of the writing process?

There are two very exciting parts for me. First, developing the idea into a workable story line. I love brainstorming, love researching, and every time I get going into either one of those processes, my mind and imagination just take over and run with it. Feels awesome! The excitement about that is just so amazing =). The next really exciting part is when you’re starting to get sick of working on it because you’re working on the umpteenth revision but then everything clicks. It starts as this little bubble of excitement that expands as things keep clicking together and you realize your work is so near completion you can practically taste it =). It’s so exciting! Lol

  1. If you could co-author a book with anyone, who would you choose and why?

I wouldn’t choose anyone famous, to be honest…. I would choose one of two people to collaborate with, and they happen to be the same two people who gave me the most detailed feedback on my novel before the last couple of revisions and edits. I know them, we communicate well, and I imagine we would work well together because we already kind of have =). The process should be fun and enjoyable… if I were to try to work with someone I don’t know I can have intense or in-depth conversations with, we would most likely butt heads and that takes the joy out of the whole process little by little because it causes stress and tension.

  1. Where can readers find you on the web?

Readers can find me all over the place =). I’ll include links to social media, too, but here are some of my websites, starting with my author site:

 

www.JenniferCrystalJohnson.com

www.NoBullSelfPublishing.com

www.BrokenPublications.com

www.SoulVomit.com

 

Amazon Author Page:

http://www.amazon.com/-/e/B007SYSP08

 

Facebook:

https://www.facebook.com/JenniferCrystalJohnson/

https://www.facebook.com/NoBullSelfPublishing/

https://www.facebook.com/BrokenPublications/

https://www.facebook.com/SoulVomitAnthology/

https://www.facebook.com/BeneathTheVeilOfNight/

https://www.facebook.com/brokenpoetjen
Twitter:

@brokenpoet

@BrokenPublctns

 

YouTube:

https://www.youtube.com/user/TheBrokenPoetJen

 

Goodreads:

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/4180887.Jennifer_Crystal_Johnson

 

 

New Release from Jennifer-Crystal Johnson:

Anna Reynolds is caught up in the middle of a secret interdimensional government agreement… and she doesn’t even know it.

There’s a medical anomaly loosely dubbed Morgellons disease afflicting a number of people. Symptoms include open sores that produce colorful string-like fibers, fatigue, and nightmarish visions of shadowy figures.

No one knows where it came from.
No one knows what causes it. There is no cure.

When Anna begins having nightmares and waking hallucinations of the shadow people, her uneasiness about her condition grows. Enlisting the help of her doctor and some friends, Anna is determined to find out what’s really going on and why Morgellons is such a mystery.

With her health declining and doubts about whom she can trust, is Anna doomed to become a slave to her condition? Or will she and her unlikely group of would-be heroes come through, saving her… and, ultimately, the world?

Available on Amazon in paperback and Kindle formats! Click here to buy Fibers.

 

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Jennifer-Crystal Johnson is originally from Germany, but was raised an Army brat. She has published one novella under her former last name, The Outside Girl: Perception is Reality (Publish America, 2005 – out of print as of 2013), a poetry book, Napkin Poetry (Broken Publications, 2010), and a collection of poetry, art, and prose called Strangers with Familiar Faces (Broken Publications, 2011). She’s also published a collection of short creature horror stories called If You’re Human Don’t Open the Door (Broken Publications, 2012), a personal development book called The Ten Pillars of a Happy Relationship (Broken Publications, 2014), and a collection of more horror stories (no creatures this time, just people) called Our Capacity for Evil (Broken Publications, 2015). She has several poems and short stories published on Every Writer’s Resource and has recently published a science fiction novel called Fibers, the first book in the Infiltration Trilogy. Jen owns and operates Broken Publications (www.BrokenPublications.com) and publishes an annual anthology to raise awareness about domestic violence called Soul Vomit (www.SoulVomit.com). When she isn’t writing or editing, she enjoys playing games with her three kids, watching crime shows on Netflix, or reading. She lives in WA State with her three children, three cats, and a crazy puppy named Thor. You can connect with her at http://www.JenniferCrystalJohnson.com, @brokenpoet, or www.Facebook.com/JenniferCrystalJohnson.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

The author will be awarding a $10 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates can be found here: 

 http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2016/03/vbt-fibers-by-jennifer-crystal-johnson.html

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

11 Responses to Fibers by Jennifer-Crystal Johnson

  1. Mai Tran says:

    What are some ways in which you promote your work? Do you find that these add to or detract from your writing time?

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you for your question! I’m going to answer this backwards: yes, promotion definitely detracts from other things as it takes quite some time to really communicate and get involved with the online community, but that’s why I had already made the decision to devote at least a few months to promotion before I dive into writing the sequel.

      Some of the ways I’m promoting my work are through this blog tour, Facebook, Twitter, ReadingDeals, StoryFinds, and a handful of other places. I’ve invested probably about $1500 into advertising and services, and the time factor is also there as I post to Facebook groups, retweet Twitter posts, and update my own blog with all of the tour stops along this journey. I also do video excerpt readings and will be sending those out to my email list, but they can also be found and shared via YouTube =).

      In short… marketing and promoting a book is pretty time-consuming and somewhat intimidating when you’ve never really done it before, but I’m keeping my fingers crossed and hoping that it does well =). Unfortunately that’s very difficult to predict, and I have a feeling my work won’t truly take off until I have more sci-fi novels out. However, it will be worth it in the long run =).

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Becky says:

    Your book sounds great.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Rita Wray says:

    I liked the interview.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Victoria says:

    Really awesome interview and great excerpt! Thanks for sharing 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Diana So says:

    I love how her favorite genre is Sci-Fi, because that’s one of my top favorite genre as well!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

