NBTM_LiesILiveBy_Banner

Lies I Live By

by Lauren Sabel

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE: YA Thriller

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

These are the facts: My name is Callie Sinclair. I am seventeen years old. I live in San Francisco. I love my boyfriend, Charlie. I work for a secret governmental agency. I am a psychic spy. This romantic, action-packed twist on the classic spy novel is perfect for fans of Ally Carter’s Embassy Row series or for any reader who enjoys cinematic writing and stories of romance and intrigue.

At seventeen, Callie is the government’s youngest psychic spy, trained to track dangerous people and weapons in her visions. When another young—and handsome and witty—psychic joins the agency, Callie’s personal and professional lives get messy all at once. If she can’t find a way to change the events she’s seen in her visions, she could lose the people she loves most . . . and her mind. Literally.

Richly painted against the backdrop of San Francisco and Berkeley, Lauren Sabel’s enthralling novel captures the thrill of exploring a unique power in a dangerous world.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Excerpt:

Right now, all over the world, there are psychics searching for dangerous weapons, biological hazards, serial killers. But you’ll never know about it. The government will deny it.  “That is not reliable information,” they will say, not mentioning the hundreds of psychics behind closed doors, accurately finding kidnapped people and murder victims.  They won’t tell you about how some minds can see below the ground, above the earth, backwards and forwards in time. And they won’t tell you that some of them are housed in mental institutions, or that one of them is your neighbor, or that one of them is below the legal voting age. Or that, for those people, life is a secret they can’t share, so they are always alone, except for one place: In their own minds.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BookCover_LiesILiveBy

Interview with the Author:

  1. How long have you been writing?

I’ve been writing since I was in second grade, but I’ve been writing seriously for about ten years. When I say seriously, I mean that’s how long I have been focused on a particular project that I believe in deeply enough to push my self-doubt aside and finish it, no matter what my internal critic says.

2. How long have you been a published author?

Two years now, since VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD was published by Katherine Tegen Books in 2014.

3. What titles do you have available?

VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD was my first book, and LIES I LIVE BY is my second.

4. What made you choose the subject of this book?

I have long been fascinated by the US government’s remote viewing program during the Cold War, and I’d read many books about it before I ever heard Callie’s voice in my head.  Once Callie made it clear that she was a psychic working undercover for the government, and that she wasn’t going away until I wrote her story, I dug deeper into the truth about the remote viewing program, and let fiction evolve from fact.

5. Do you have any new titles coming soon?

LIES I LIVE BY

6. What is your favorite genre and why?

I love YA books. I am intrigued by the natural struggles being a teenager produces: falling in love, dealing with insecurity and sometimes loss, finding your own identity. I remember all of these things very clearly, and although now I have the fortune of seeing the ups and downs of my teenage years in hindsight, I can still dig into those feelings and thoughts, but with enough distance to stay a happy, functional adult.

7. What, to you, is the most exciting part of the writing process?

The initial discovery. This happens in the first draft, of course, but also all the way through the writing process. Every time some plot point or character trait doesn’t work, I get to surprise myself by coming up with a solution. This discovery process is the most painful part of writing at times, but it can also be spine-tingling, day-making, joy-inducing work.

8. If you could co-author a book with anyone, who would you choose and why?

Probably Jodi Piccoult. I’m a big fan of the way she creates believable characters while simultaneously crafting an intriguing and often morally complicated plot.

9. Where can readers find you on the web?

At www.laurensabel.com, or my tumblr blog. I’m also on facebook, twitter, and instagram under the handle “laurensabel”. I have a website for the book www.liesiliveby.com and a facebook fan page.

Thank you!

Lauren

~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~~

MediaKit_AuthorPhoto_LiesILiveBy

AUTHOR Bio and Links:

Lauren Sabel lives in the quirky dark spaces of her mind, and she tries to shed light on these spaces in her books. After publishing VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD in Summer 2014 with Katherine Tegen Books, an imprint of Harper Collins, she confronted her lifelong fear of being psychic by writing LIES I LIVE BY (pub May 2016). Since in this YA thriller, teenage psychic spy Callie Sinclair works undercover for the government, forced to hide her real identity from everyone she loves, Lauren is now certain she’s on the CIA watch list.

Social Networks:

Website: www.laurensabel.com AND http://liesiliveby.com/

Blog: http://laurensabel.tumblr.com

Twitter: laurensabel

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/author.laurensabel/?ref=hl

AND

https://www.facebook.com/LIES-I-LIVE-BY-1060641787289541/?skip_nax_wizard=true

Instagram: laurensabel  AND liesiliveby

 

Book Purchase Links:

LIES I LIVE BY:

Kindle: http://www.amazon.com/dp/0062231987/ref=cm_sw_su_dp

Nook: http://bit.ly/liesiliveby

http://www.indiebound.org/book/9780062231987

 

VIVIAN DIVINE IS DEAD:

 http://www.amazon.com/Vivian-Divine-Dead-Lauren-Sabel/dp/0062231952

http://www.barnesandnoble.com/w/vivian-divine-is-dead-lauren-sabel/1117005007

 ~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates can be found here: 

http://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2016/02/nbtm-tour-lies-i-live-by-by-lauren-sabel.html

Lauren will be awarding $50 Amazon or B/N GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

 a Rafflecopter giveaway

16 thoughts on “Lies I Live By by Lauren Sabel

Leave a Reply

