nbtm_tourbanner_lifeasateenagevampire

Life as a Teenage Vampire

by Amanda Meuwissen

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

GENRE:  YA Paranormal Romance/Urban Fantasy

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

BLURB:

Emery Mavus just wants to survive his senior year of high school. Becoming a vampire complicates things. So does a bizarre mentor, a group of vampire hunters, and an unexpected, new attraction for his openly gay best friend, Connor. An occasional uncontrollable hunger for blood might be the least of his worries.

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

mediakit_bookcover_lifeasateenagevampire

Excerpt:

It was a trick. Emery had made it all up, knowing that the details would lead Connor to vampires. These were just Halloween fangs. Connor wasn’t really hypnotized into submission; he was just stunned, believing his own crazy imagination. He’d longed for years to have Emery this close, after all, crowding him into a corner, lips descending. He’d just imagined them descending a little closer to his mouth, though his neck wouldn’t be so bad…

…if not for the sharp sting, the breaking of the skin and rush of blood sucked out of him so fast he felt dizzy, and then—wow.

It didn’t hurt at all. It felt like Emery was tucked into his shoulder intimately, fully aware of the pleasant buzzing he caused in Connor’s gut every time they touched. Connor had dreamed of this, imagined it just like this, and felt lulled by Emery’s body being so close, and the way he shivered feeling those lips on his skin. He almost thought he heard Emery’s soothing voice whispering affirmations he’d always wanted to hear.

“Em…” Connor breathed out, barely audible.

The room was dimming, but he felt cozy where he was. His arms were limp and heavy as he lifted them to pull Emery closer, feeling the soft fabric of the sweater against his somewhat numb right palm. He pulled tighter, twisting flesh and plastic fingers alike in the fabric, pulling…with the faint sense that he should be pushing instead.

“Em…” he choked out like a whimper, like he was crying. Why was he crying? This was everything he’d ever wanted…

Interview with the Author:

  1. How long have you been writing?

I have a box at home that I have called my treasure chest since I was young (just a cardboard box in actuality) where I keep all of my keepsakes, and in there are some very old notebooks from when I was single digits. So I’ve basically been writing since I was capable of doing so. I’ve been posting fiction online since 2000, and have been a published author since 2012.

  1. How long have you been a published author?

Creeping into my fifth year now, I have five published books. I hope I can continue that momentum of a book a year forever. I certainly am not lacking in ideas; I have far more than I can ever get down on paper. I had my break with a young indie startup publisher BigWorldNetwork, and have since started self-publishing. I am considering sending some of my smaller stories to an M/M specific publisher in the future, but will likely always do some self-publishing for the titles I want a little more control over.

3. What titles do you have available?

My first title was a novelette, The Collector, about the Devil’s bounty hunter having to deal with a murder mystery. First, all of his marks start dying before he can collect their souls, and then later even other soul collectors. I am best known for The Incubus Saga, an M/M paranormal romance trilogy about fae lore, a pair of twin brothers, one who is a changeling, the other seemingly normal, who then falls in love with an incubus destined to help then save the world from evil fae. And then Life as a Teenage Vampire is my fifth and most recent title, my first YA novel, still with a paranormal twist and an M/M love story, though tamer than my usual writing. I am hard at work on my sixth book, an M/M romance superhero story, that I hope to release this year.

4. What made you choose the subject of this book?

I am a life-long lover of vampires, ever since I was very small – I joke that it started when I was three watching Count Duckula with my older brother. I read the Anne Rice Vampire Chronicles when I was in middle school, and have a lot of references for this particular book. It’s in part autobiographical with many of the high school elements, but also got inspiration from MTV’s Teen Wolf series, the movie My Best Friend is a Vampire, and the book series Rainbow Boys. Bucky Barnes and his metal arm in The Winter Soldier also had some influence.

5. Do you have any new titles coming soon?

I don’t have a date down, as I am still deep in the editing stages, and I still need to plan out the cover art, but I am hoping to have my superhero title Lovesick Gods out this summer. It’s a very big switch from Life as a Teenage Vampire, as instead of paranormal it’s super powers and is a very heavy, adult story dealing with trauma and depression and betrayal that will turn people upside before it leads them to the light at the end of the tunnel. I am very excited about it.

6. What is your favourite genre and why?

I’m a sucker for modern fantasy and/or sci-fi and paranormal. I do tend to prefer modern or future settings to high fantasy, but anything that deals with things a little beyond our normal world is the most appealing to me. I love magic and mystery and fantastical elements. It’s what excited me as a child and continues to in adulthood.

7. What, to you, is the most exciting part of the writing process?

Those moments when it just flows. It’s a singular experience, like true euphoria. Everything comes together and the words hit the page like they were meant to be there. I love rereading those sections, rekindling that feeling of creating something beautiful.

8. If you could co-author a book with anyone, who would you choose and why?

Probably my oldest sister, Wendy Herman. She is also an author, and we have a lot in common with what we enjoy and some of our writing styles. I’m lucky enough that I am going to get to publish something with her coming up very soon, a long in coming non-fiction book with some anecdotes from tons of women I know, and she is one of them.

9. Where can readers find you on the web?

Google my name and you’ll pretty much only find me – Amanda Meuwissen. But I also make it easy by having a site at

http://www.amandameuwissen.com/,

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorAmandaMeuwissen/,

https://twitter.com/MissSuperCube,

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6831429.Amanda_Meuwissen and

http://crimsondomingo.tumblr.com/.
AUTHOR Bio and Links:

mediakit_authorphoto_lifeasateenagevampire

Amanda has a Bachelor of Arts in a personally designed major from St. Olaf College in Creative Writing, and has been posting content online for many years, including maintaining the blog for the digital marketing company Outsell. She spent a summer writing screenplay script coverages for a company in L.A., and is an avid consumer of fiction through film, prose, and video games. Amanda lives in Minneapolis, MN, with her husband, John, and their cats, Helga and Sasha (no connection to the incubus of the same name).

Author web links:

https://www.amazon.com/Life-Teenage-Vampire-Amanda-Meuwissen/dp/1943619328/http://www.amandameuwissen.com/

http://crimsondomingo.tumblr.com/

https://www.goodreads.com/author/show/6831429.Amanda_Meuwissen

https://www.facebook.com/AuthorAmandaMeuwissen/

https://twitter.com/MissSuperCube

~~~~~~~~~~~~~

Amanda Meuwissen will be awarding a $25 Amazon or Barnes and Noble GC to a randomly drawn winner via rafflecopter during the tour.

a Rafflecopter giveaway

Follow the tour and comment; the more you comment, the better your chances of winning. The tour dates can be found here: 

https://goddessfishpromotions.blogspot.com/2016/11/nbtm-life-as-teenage-vampire-by-amanda.html

14 thoughts on “Life as a Teenage Vampire; Amanda Meuwissen Author

    1. I had just come off of finishing my trilogy The Incubus Saga, and had a slew of things happen at once, where I had written a rather long Teen Wolf fan fiction (it’s great stress release, and a fun, different experience from original writing), just finished reading the last book in the Rainbow Boys trilogy by Alex Sanchez, and was totally in love with The Winter Soldier, which did in some ways inspire one of the main character’s major traits. I brought in real life experiences and many inspirations to complete this book, and finally got to tell a vampire story, which I’ve been wanting to do since I first started writing.

      Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

